Raison d’etre

I just finished a book called Radical Remission: Surviving Cancer Against All Odds by Kelly A. Turner, PHD.  The book is about fighting cancer, but I found it so inspirational in a different way.   This book really points to the things we are missing in this hustle bustle way of life – like fun, creative and joy. Thinking about fun, creativity and joy gets me excited. It makes me want to eat right, it makes me want to be healthy, so I have the energy to do more things.

What would you do if you have a certain number of years to live? I think there are two things I would like to do more of, 1. Music. I obviously love to sing, I can learn to play an instrument to help me out with that, even if it is the morning daily joy of singing. 2. Energy (of a different kind) I was inspired by Mark Ruffalo and his organization 100% org. It’s about moving the country to 100% renewable energy.   But it seems to me that it’s not just about renewable energy but about making life cheap and affordable. Because if you can make life cheap and affordable, then you free up the creativity of all people, instead of working. Work is a good thing, but think about if you were working for something you want to do in the world, some improvement, some passion, something that pulls you so much that you just have to do it. Imagine if we could all have that time for creativity.   That concept excites me!

Leave a Reply

