Week 3 of FI

Beginning week 3 of being unemployed, semi-retired, vagabond. The first two weeks were very busy, I had lists of things I wanted to accomplished. A friend and I held a Garage Sale the very next weekend, a Saturday and Sunday Garage Sale, which for Corvallis is unusual. My garage is cleaner yet again (purge number 4?). I consigned of the pine dresser and the oak bookcases at the ARC thrift shop. Just one more thing to drop off today at Habitat for Humanity, the electric grill. Firewood is being delivered today. But enough of the things I’ve done.

Check in on my emotional health. The first week I had to make a conscience decision not to think about work. Now two weeks later, I wonder about them and how they are doing, but I can’t imagine that they really need me. I just think, they think, they need me. I did drop off the thank you notes and I still have a little bit of an emotional allergy to the place. But then I had a phone call with a former co-worker and it was good to hear her voice and I think they wanted to know how I was as well. I need to remember the good relations with the people there that made it worthwhile to go to work.  When you work with good people 8-9 hours a day, you really get to know them and they get to know you.  It isn’t possible for me to keep the same level of relationships going with 20+ people without the work environment.  It is like moving away from family,  you know they are still there, you just don’t see them as much.  There is a soap making party this Friday, so it will be a good get together to re-connect without the work environment.

I think I’m OK. Not depressed, not angry, but not yet energized about what I’m going to do with my future. And I want to be careful to use this first six months as recovery. I have a short 7 day stay in Hawaii which will help, I’m sure. In Corvallis we have had storms and the days are getting shorter, so that is a little depressing. I’m not sure why I have to stay in Oregon, if fairer weather elsewhere would be more beneficial to my health. I will just need to find some part-time work to do elsewhere because it will cost me to be elsewhere. It doesn’t cost me much to be at home. I don’t want to let the money choices make all the decisions, but I also feel a need to be productive. Just going and sitting may not meet my needs. (but maybe it could?)

There should really be a class or guide on how to handle the transition from working to FI maybe there is one and I just haven’t found it yet.

Leave a Reply

